SWIC Immigration

Border restrictions and measures to address COVID-19 Omicron variant

Fully vaccinated travellers to Canada: There are new requirements for all fully vaccinated travellers who are permitted entry and have been in any country other than Canada or the United States in the 14 days before arriving in Canada. Fully vaccinated travellers who are selected for arrival testing must quarantine in a suitable place until they receive a negative test result. The Government of Canada is increasing the number of fully vaccinated travellers being selected for testing to reach 100% of vaccinated travellers in the coming weeks.


Requirements for unvaccinated travellers remain unchanged.


Foreign nationals who have been in any of the following countries within 14 days before arriving in Canada cannot enter Canada right now:

  • Botswana, Egypt, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Zimbabwe

This includes international students and foreign workers.


Find out more about these changes

Source: https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/visit-canada.html